Excellence in Road Safety Awards 2016


The Excellence in Road Safety Awards recognises the most innovative practices carried out in the framework of the European Road Safety Charter.




Commissioner for Transport Violeta Bulc presented the Excellence in Road Safety Awards 2016 on the 20 May 2016. This prize recognises commitments to road safety that have a significant impact on saving lives on Europe's roads. The award ceremony brought together non-governmental organisations as well as public and private entities from the European Union and beyond, stakeholders and prominent personalities working for safer roads across Europe.

The winners of the Excellence in Road Safety Award this year in two categories are as follows:
In the category school challenge:
 CP MIGUEL DE CERVANTES from Spain for its success in improving the safety of cycling children in road traffic;
 Lockerbie Academy from the United Kingdom for its innovative educational programme for raising awareness of road safety.
In the category best practice:
 Børneulykkesfonden and Codan Forsikring from Denmark for their initiative 'National Reflector Day' targeting vulnerable road users;
 Centrum Bezpieczeństwa Ruchu Drogowego from Poland for its innovative solutions in improving road safety;
 ACA Automobil Club from Albania for the best use of existing practice in order to improve road users' behaviour.
This year, a special prize was dedicated to Jacques Barrot, former Transport Commissioner and ardent supporter of road safety who handed out the first Road Safety Charter Award exactly ten years ago. This special prize was given to the best practice voted for by the public present at the ceremony. This prize was awarded to the Lockerbie Academy from the United Kingdom.
The presentation of each of the awarded projects was followed by a roundtable allowing participants to exchange best practices. Subjects for discussion covered education and awareness-raising among children and young people; protection of vulnerable road users such as pedestrians and cyclists; and innovation in road safety practice. Subsequently, Commissioner Bulc joined Inés Ayala Sender (Member of the European Parliament), Jean Todt (United Nations Secretary-General's Special Envoy), François Bellot (Belgium Federal Minister of Mobility) and Didier de Radiguès (former motorsport champion and sport commentator) on a panel debate focusing on the role that citizens can play in improving road safety.

charter_latest_update: 22/05/2018 | charter_top